You are viewing an archive of the old fxhome.com forums. The community has since moved to hitfilm.com.

question about preview render!

Posted: Sat, 25th Oct 2008, 7:35pm

Post 1 of 5

badmonk

Force: 1197 | Joined: 17th Dec 2007 | Posts: 92

VisionLab User MacOS User

Gold Member

hey guys!

when i save a vision lab project after i have rendered using the preview render timeline selection, and when i reopen it, i have to re-render it all over again?
is this normal please? or is there any other way round this?

also re undo/redo, any chance of getting more than 1 chance at it please?

thanks and apologies for all these questions, i am still getting used to it smile
Posted: Sat, 25th Oct 2008, 8:00pm

Post 2 of 5

Axeman

Force: 17995 | Joined: 20th Jan 2002 | Posts: 6124

VisionLab User VideoWrap User PhotoKey 5 Pro User MuzzlePlug User PowerPlug User PhotoKey 3 Plug-in User FXhome Movie Maker FXpreset Maker MacOS User

SuperUser

There is no way to save the preview render with the project that I am aware of. But since as soon as you change anything you have to re-render it anyway, its never really been an issue for me. If you want to reduce render times you can of course use a lower quality setting on the canvas.
Posted: Sat, 25th Oct 2008, 8:13pm

Post 3 of 5

badmonk

Force: 1197 | Joined: 17th Dec 2007 | Posts: 92

VisionLab User MacOS User

Gold Member

ahh good point!! thanks for that!!

do you know anything about the undo please? i.e in a future update will it be increased to more than 1 redo?
Posted: Sat, 25th Oct 2008, 8:55pm

Post 4 of 5

Axeman

Force: 17995 | Joined: 20th Jan 2002 | Posts: 6124

VisionLab User VideoWrap User PhotoKey 5 Pro User MuzzlePlug User PowerPlug User PhotoKey 3 Plug-in User FXhome Movie Maker FXpreset Maker MacOS User

SuperUser

I don't know if there are plans to add an undo history or not. It would be nice sometimes.

I try to make it a practice to save multiple versions of a project if its important, as added protection in case of a crash or if I really screw things up, I can revert to an earlier saved state. Also, keep in mind that you can alse revert any specific effect to its original settings, if you spend a while tweaking all kinds of stuff and realize that things aren't working. So the short answer is no, unfortunately, but maybe you will find those tips helpful for now.
Posted: Sun, 26th Oct 2008, 10:46pm

Post 5 of 5

badmonk

Force: 1197 | Joined: 17th Dec 2007 | Posts: 92

VisionLab User MacOS User

Gold Member

thanks Axeman!
you have been very helpful! cheers for that smile